Black eyed Pea salad with organic greens and sumac

The weather in Toronto is still very cold if not brutal. I love my cold green salads but in these severe winters they make you feel just more cold and grumpy. You need hot and hearty carbohydrate rich feel good foods.

I came up with this salad using simple, humble pigeon peas also known as black eyed peas which taste good even plain without being dressed with fancy herbs and oils. I used warm ( not hot ) peas in the salad with my favourite salad mix and with very simple dressing. I used sumac which I have not used before in this kind of salad. One of my dear friends had visited Turkey recentely and brought  me beautiful, delicious, sour sumac.I must say  the result was a lipsmacking, hearty very pretty salad. Hope you will love it as much as my family did.

photo (12)

photo (11)

Ingredients

1 cup  boiled black eyed peas ( soaked for couple of hours and cooked in a pressure cooker or a slow cooker with little salt and turmeric )

1/2 red onion marinated in juice of half a lime for couple of hours

1 1/2  cup mixed salad greens( aragula, lettuce,chard, spinach and radicchio) chopped 

1 plum tomato finely chopped

1 tsp. chilli oil ( optional )

1 tsp. sumac

2 tbsp. finely chopped cilantro

juice of half lime

 Mix well all the ingrdients and enjoy !!!!! Serve as a side salad or as a main for lunch, it will shine no matter what. 

Leave a Reply

